Reviews

Ido not know atitle worthy of the super hotel - Rating 5/5

Hi all, everything about your lovely place was fabulous,we could not have asked for more.From the lovely location,the super room,the scrumptious breakfast,the service,the friendly banter,.What more could we have wished for.Thank you again for being such lovely friendly hosts.Mary&Donxx

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and I apologise for the delay in responding.It was a pleasure and I hope we will be able to met you both againHilary

Reviewer:Mary & Don Wilson | Fri 16th Jun 2017


Easter Break - Rating 5/5

I appreciated your accommodating attitude. Many thanks.

Reviewer:freda dalton | Tue 6th Jun 2017


An excellent weekend. - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the small apartment in April -a Friday and Saturday to attend a friend\'s wedding on the Saturday. I couldn\'t fault the presentation:all very clean with plenty of tea, coffee and fresh milk. The welcome was lovely and Hilary took her time to check we had everything we needed. She was flexible and accomodating. The breakfast was really lovely- great quality food. The surroundings are very beautiful too with plenty of walks. It felt more like a holiday than a short break!

Reviewer:Maggie Allred | Sun 21st May 2017


Yorkshire v South East Asia.- Rating 4/5

The Harmony House facility was as described and the breakfast excellent.Costs are high in GB. when compared with Asian countries and the local restaurant quite pathetic.Poor quality and service. My hosts at Harmony were delightful.

Reviewer:Peter Watkins | Sun 21st May 2017


Another good stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Harmony House annex was predictably pleasant, with the kitchen generously stocked so that we could relax immediately after our drive from Norfolk in the comfortable lounge and any local information available from Hilary and Paul.

Reviewer:Mr. Ken Deighton | Fri 12th May 2017


A warm welcome awaits... - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome awaits at Harmony House. We were greeted by Hilary with wonderful homemade cakes and a nice cuppa upon our arrival.The accommodation in the annex was perfect and the full English breakfasts were very tasty and set us up for our days of sightseeing in nearby York. Would highly recommend this very comfortable B &B in a delightfully quiet, yet convenient position.

Reviewer:Mr. David Whitbread | Tue 9th May 2017


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Such a lovely warm and friendly welcome, was followed by some great information and advise about the local area which totally made our weekend.The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the whole place felt relaxed and I really wished we could have stayed longer.

Response

Thank you very much for your review.It was a pleasure to meet you both and I do hope you will be able to come again.Best wishesHilary

Reviewer:Mr N Rickettslaterooms | Wed 3rd May 2017


Weekend at Harmony house - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for a wonderful stay at your beautiful B&B a very warm welcome,wonderful breakfast with superb choice,very clean with beautiful bed linen,we would highly recommend Harmony House, after running are own B&B for 24 years we would definately return, Thankyou

Response

Thank you Maurice and Anne for your lovely review. It is a great accolade from such established B&B owners.I must admit I was a little nervous.I do hope that Maurice is continuing to improve and that you do manage to get a break away again when he feels better.Wishing you the very best. Hilary

Reviewer:Maurice and Anne Halliday | Wed 4th Jan 2017


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights combining a visit to our daughter at the university with some time in York.Paul and Hilary could not have made us more welcome. We loved the tea and cakes and the delicious breakfasts with every possible option you could want.We stayed in the Poppy room which was warm and spacious and had everything we needed.This is probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in, thank you we hope to be back.

Response

Thank you very much Margaret I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will visit again.I apologise for the late reply.Kind regards Hilary

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Spikings | Wed 7th Dec 2016


Anniversary Celebration - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harmony House to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Paul and Hilary were excellent hosts. We enjoyed chatting with them over a delicious breakfast. They made us feel very welcome.After being out sight seeing Hilary\'s home made cakes and a cup of tea made a perfect end to the day.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.I am so pleased we made your wedding anniversary something to remember. we wish you both the very best and hope to see you again if you are in the area

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Smith | Thu 10th Nov 2016


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay, incredibly welcoming,beautifully decorated,good food and a host of extras that really enhanced our visit.

Response

Thank you very much Christine.We very much hope you will visit again.Kind regards HIlary

Reviewer:Mrs. ChristineHunton | Wed 26th Oct 2016


Holiday Break - Rating 5/5

We can highly recomend Hilary &Paul at Harmony House for their warm and friendly Welcome

Response

Thank you Francis.It was a pleasure meeting you and looking forward to meeting you again in the spring.Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Francis Grose | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Beautiful setting - Rating 4/5

What a wonderful setting followed by a wonderful welcome and very comfortable couple of nights

Response

Thank you very much Ann for your kind words and the time taken to write . I hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you again.Hilary

Reviewer:Ann Sheard | Thu 22nd Sep 2016


Ploughing weekend - Rating 4/5

Thought the B&B was very good. Welcoming hosts, lovely breakfast. Appreciated the homemade cake left everyday and the lovely evening meal. Clean and comfy. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you very much Robert.You must be very proud of your son winning the Young Farmers ploughing match. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope your trip back to the Isle of Wight was event free.Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Richards | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Beautiful place and location - Rating 5/5

A Beautiful place and location, lots of local walks and longer walks if need beThe garden is very tranquil and relaxing A short drive to the Park and Ride to go to townThe Full breakfast was excellent, The hosts couldn’t do enough to help with local information as well as places and drives to go onIf we returned back to the UK we would come backThank you both for a wonderful stay

Response

It was a pleasure to meet you both Robin and thank you for taking the time to write from across the pond.I certainly do hope that you will visit us again if you return to the UK but I am sure you have plenty of other countries to visit.I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction.Hilary

Reviewer:Robin McGuire | Sun 4th Sep 2016


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

The title explain everything. Maybe the best B&B I stayed in life. For position, the staff, the room, the research to try to satisfy every question. Excellent.

Response

Thank you Roberto.It was a pleasure meeting you and you astounded me with the places you visited during your stay and on your holiday in general.Thank you so much for theNorfolk apple juice it was divine especially during this warm weather.Hope to meet you againHilary

Reviewer:Roberto Carri | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Lovely quiet location convenient for visiting York - Rating 5/5

We were delighted by the friendly welcome and the high standard of facilities. Breakfast good too.

Response

Thank you very much. I am glad your son enjoyed his visit to York university and is successful in his application to whichever he chooses.We hope we will see you again should he choose to come to York.kind regards Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Wraith | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Excellent B&B close to York - Rating 5/5

Hilary are Paul are very welcoming hosts who offer first class food and accommodation. One of the best B&B experiences we have had in the UK. Great location for anyone visiting the York area who would rather be in a splendid rural location outside the city. Highly recommended.

Response

thank you very much Robert.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will be able to stay with us again.Many thanks for taking the time to put pen to paper.kind regardsHilary

Reviewer:Robert Perrin | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Very relaxed, perfect cooked breakfast and real attention to detail, thank you.

Response

thank you very much for taking the time to write.I hope your son has had a good response to his art exhibition in York and we hope you will visit again if you are in the area. Hilary

Reviewer:tim And Mary Steward| Wed 29th Jun 2016


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

A truly excellent B&B which also provides delicious meals on request. After a very long journey we were warmly welcomed and able to relax with tea and homemade cakes.The village is well sited for visits to lots of local places of interest and we would thoroughly recommend staying here. Many thanks to Hilary and Paul.

Response

Thank you very much Mr & Mrs Hazel.You certainly packed in a lot during your stay and we both hope you will come back and see us to visit more of our lovely county.kind regards Hilary

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Hazel | Fri 10th Jun 2016


A real gem - Rating 5/5

Paul and Hilary made us feel so welcome and provided so many extras to make our stay special, such as home made cake in our room andbrioche bread at breakfast time. The place was spotless and the bed very comfortable.

Response

Thank you very much Janet. It was a pleasure to look after you and hope that you will come again.hilary

Reviewer:Janet Leach | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Pleasant Bank Holiday weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Accommodation was ideal (annex) for our family of four and we had two very good night\'s sleep on the pull-down bed.Well equipped kitchen and tasty biscuits on arrival!Well situated for York and handy Park &Ride nearby.

Response

thank you so much Caroline. I am really pleased you enjoyed your weekend and flecibility of the annex for a young family. I hope you will be able to visit again sometime. Hilary

Reviewer:Caroline Birch (farm Stay) | Wed 1st Jun 2016


harmony house - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and food was very nice, the room and house very clean the village was peaceful no noise so makes for a relaxing stay and not far from York. The only slight criticism was the room was a little to cold for me but the heating was on so not due to that .

Response

thank you very much and I am really pleased you found it relaxing.I am really sorry you weren\\\'t as warm as you would have liked. Your room is generally warm and often guests turn the heating down or open the windows as it is south facing. It has been difficult to get it right with the unseasonable weather changes over the last month. I hope that you will visit us again.Hilary

Reviewer:Mrs. margaret barker | Wed 4th May 2016


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

We found a very warm welcome on our arrival,and a friendly happy feel to the whole area,we will be staying again. Thankyou.

Response

Thank you very much Karen.I hope you had a good journey home. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course the area.I hope we will meet you next time you visit.hilary

Reviewer:Karen Gridley | Mon 2nd May 2016


Ten out of Five! - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Harmony House when we were invited to a party in nearby Cawood.A warm welcome followed by cakes and biscuits to accompany a cup of coffeewere immediately a good sign of a well run establishment. The comfortable beds (yes 2 snore-proof areas in the annex) meant that we bothslept very well indeed and arrived in the dining room ready to eat breakfast. The fruit salad was as it should be lots of different fruits well prepared followed by a choice of anything from the full English breakfast to variations. Excellent toast with proper bread and a choice of jams , marmalade and lemon cheese filled the tiny gap we had left. and lots of tea or coffee -nice and hot. We would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the area and may well be back ourselves at some point.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.I am really pleased your stay in the annex was ideal for you.I hope you will be back to see us again and look forward to seeing you.Enjoy your summer at home inbeautiful Cumbria.

Reviewer:Janet Pruce | Tue 26th Apr 2016


First class - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house. Had King room with view of the green. Really lovely. Food excellent beautifully cooked by Hilary. Both Hilary and Paul very welcoming with lovely pot of tea and homemade scones and biscuits.

Response

Thank you so much for your review.I am really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas present and visiting the other side of the pennines!!. Hope fully you will come and stay with us again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Hudson | Thu 21st Apr 2016


Really great! - Rating 4/5

Although we were the only ones staying on the night, which meant we had the full undivided attention of the host and hostess I don\'t doubt we would have had a similar experience even if they were fully booked. The room we stayed in was very clean and the en suite bathroom was very well done. It was spacious and had everything we needed. I can assure you that Hilary the hostess would have gone out of her way to make any issue right anyway but we had none so it was great. We didn\'t stay for dinner in the evening but we did have breakfast in the morning. Fresh sweet fruit and a full English with tea coffee and juices. We would definitely book again if we\'re in the area! thanks! 4.5 stars if we could, we save 5 stars for the absolute exceptional. Side note:it\'s a cookery school there so there are fresh cakes and things all over the place.. Mmm tasty :)

Reviewer:Mr. Jamie Higgins | Fri 8th Apr 2016


Wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

I can truthfully say that Harmony House offered everything that you could want and more.The hosts are welcoming and friendly, the rooms immaculate,tastefully decorated and very comfortable, and the food is lovely too.What more can I say other than, \'We will be back!\'.Thank you for making our weekend so pleasurable.Elaine x

Response

Thank you so much Elaine.I really hope we will see you again and it was a pleasure to look after you.hilary

Reviewer:Elaine Sheldon | Mon 4th Apr 2016


harmony House - Rating 5/5

We had a two night stay at this lovely guest house.The hosts Hilary and Paulwe\'re very welcoming,andwe were greeted with hot drinksand lovely homemade cakes. The accommodationwas spotlessand our room and bed were excellent. The breakfasts were lovely.

Response

Thank you very much Jean. It was a pleasure to look after you and I do hope we see you both again.best wishes Hilary

Reviewer:Miss. Jean Evans | Sun 13th Mar 2016


Best ever B&B - Rating 5/5

Harmony House is the best B&B we\'ve stayed in.Beautifully appointed, comfortable, obliging and with the best meals (delicious breakfast but also excellent dinner on request).Conveniently situated for York yet with clean country air and peace and quiet.We can\'t recommend it highly enough.Thank you to Hilary and Paul for a great stay.

Response

Muito orbrigada. It was a pleasure looking after you all and I hope your trip around the Dales and beyond was enjoyable.Thank you very much for posting back the key and I wish your friends a safe journey home to AustraliaAtélogo Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Robinson | Thu 19th Nov 2015


our stay - Rating 5/5

we had a very pleasant one night stay. warm welcome very nice room with generous supply of nibbles etc. breakfast was well cooked and presented. nothing rushed. we will be staying at harmony house again. the location, although it is a short drive to the city, was easy and pleasant. full marks.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write.I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your wife enjoyed her birthday treat.I am so glad you agree the drive into York from here is very pretty with light traffic and easy access.I hope we will see you both again Hilary

Reviewer:FrederickGriffin | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for a long weekend in October with my partner for his birthday. This B&B is so much more than the run of the mill B&B\'s. The rooms are a good size and very tastefully decorated with gorgeous bedding. It was the liitle touches that really made is special, things like home-made cookies, cakes and scones. A small fridge with bottled water, fresh milk &fresh Orange juice. A large bag of kettle crisps. The en-suite bathroom was fabbo with a large roll topped bath big enough for two and a walk in shower, don\'t worry about taking soaps, shampoos, bubble bath as these are all supplied by the owner, Bath towels a plenty and are huge &fluffy.The breakfast is tasty, hot &plenty of it served in a farmhouse kitchen at a shared long table where you end up talking to other guests, relaxed &friendly. Will DEFFO be going back and will be recommending to my family &friends. It was lovely to enjoy the hustle &bustle of York but escape to the lovely quiet village of Stillingfleet approx 6 miles away for a quiet romantic evening.

Response

Thank you very much Mandy.It was lovely to have you to stay with us and we enjoyed your company. We are looking forward to seeing you both again and hope your wedding is a brilliant day for you

Reviewer:Mandy Robinson | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Our stop of in york - Rating 5/5

Day 1 of a long weekend away and what a way to start. You will not better this. Room and food 1st class

Response

Thank you very much.I do hope you had an enjoyable time for the rest of your trip away and that we see you again sometime HIlary

Reviewer:John Henry Williams | Tue 27th Oct 2015


A Yorkshire Gem - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at Harmony House.Room, food and hosts, top marks!Thank you Hilary and Paul.

Response

Thank you very much Linda.It was lovely to meet you both and hope we may see you again if your daughter is at the Opera House again best wishes hilary

Reviewer:Linda Parker | Wed 14th Oct 2015


Charming cottage - Rating 5/5

We are delighted to offer our review of Harmony House. We were welcomed by Paul and made comfortable with coffee and home made cookies. Later we were taken to our tidy well appointed room, were we spent a quiet comfortable night. We awakened to a very nice, made-to-order breakfast.We wished we could have stayed longer, to enjoy this very special accomadation.Ken &DoraFlorida U.S.A

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. WE hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK and will come back and see us again. hilary

Reviewer:Dorota Stanek-Garbacz | Wed 7th Oct 2015


Top Marks!! - Rating 5/5

This was our second 2 night weekend stay at the beautiful Harmony House, and it most certainly won\'t be our last visit. A wonderful standard of accomodation, excellent food and friendly and helpful hosts. All in all Harmony House has everything the leisure traveller could wish for and all in the fabulous setting of Stillingfleet with it\'s proximity to the city of York. Top marks on every level, and we look forward to our return before too long. Thank you. Gary and Caroline Taylor.

Response

Thank you very much. It is so nice when guests come to stay with us again and there is always more to do in York.I hope we will see you again soon.HIlary

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Taylor | Sat 26th Sep 2015


Anniversary trip- Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay with you Will really bring the family back

Response

Thank you very much Juliaand I hope we will see you again with the familyHilary

Reviewer:JuliaAdeshokan | Sat 5th Sep 2015


Very Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Hilary and Paul are amazing hosts and did everything to make sure we had a great stay. We had a lovely room and Hilary presented a first class breakfast. We couldn\'t have asked for anything more.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. WE are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit againhilary

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth Watson | Sat 5th Sep 2015


Excellent Hosts - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay in the annex at Harmony House. The warm welcome with a pot of tea plus a scone and piece of cake each was much appreciated after our journey from Norfolk. The annex wasimmaculate and the little kitchen was well stocked with fresh milk, local bread and croissants. It all went a long way towards making our 4 day trip to Yorkshire very successful and we will definitely be staying again on our next visit.

Response

Thank you very much Ken.I am really pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and we hope you will come again if you are passing this way.I hope your journey home was uneventful and you are enjoying the rest of the summer weatherhilary

Reviewer:Mr. Ken Deighton | Tue 18th Aug 2015


York family holiday - Rating 4/5

Wonderful to have a cottage style apartment to ourselves. Children loved it. Free Wi-Fi and access to computer for emergencies was very helpful. Would highly recommend this place. The only disappointment was not having a shop in the village. Hopefully soon rectified.

Response

Thank you for your review. Sadly many rural villages don\'t have a shop any more and at present our local garage is being refurbished, but we try and give you as much as possible for your stay so you wont need one. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in York. Hilary

Reviewer:LeelaNarayanan | Wed 5th Aug 2015


Harmony House - Rating 5/5

We stayed at this lovely b&b 10th &11 this July. We definitely would recommend it, Hilary and Paul are so lovely, kind and will do anything to make you feel comfortable, like home from home. Such a pleasure to meet you both and we will definitely be back. The rooms are clean and tidy and we loved all the personal touches they left for us, especially the home made cookies. It\'s in a beautiful, quiet and relaxing location, and not far from the York Deisgner Outlet, which we took total advantage of.Thank you both Stacy &Jay

Response

Thank you Stacy and JayWe enjoyed having you and I hope that you didn\'t spend too much at the Designer outlet !!! Looking forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to write a review.Hilary

Reviewer:StacyClews | Mon 13th Jul 2015


Thank you for alovely break. - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay in a delightful setting. The house was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, as were the tea and scones we had on arrival. Hilary was very helpful with her knowledge and advice about the area. We\'ll definitely stay here any time we\'re in the region.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to give you advice on the area.Hopefully you will be able to visit again and enjoy more of York and Yorkshire.Many thanks again Hilary

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Palmer | Fri 26th Jun 2015


DO NOT MISS THE EXPERIENCE AT THIS FAB B&B - Rating 5/5

We normally use 5 star hotels when we travel but we had a great experience from the standard of ACCOMADATION,SERVICE AND FOOD which Hilary and Paul delivered. They have got it right and if you miss this it is your loss if visiting York as the Park and Ride is a very short drive away. We hada fab stay and would stay again when in the area. THANKS.

Response

Thank you so much for your review, and apologies for the delay inmy reply. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly enjoyed your company.we both look forward to seeing you again.Best wishes Hilary

Reviewer:Richard Barnes| Sun 14th Jun 2015


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Hilary and Paul could not have made us more welcome. The house is beautiful as was the room we were in, with a lovely big bathroom.The breakfast was excellent and the home made cookies and cakes in the room was a nice touch.We would definately recommend.

Response

Thank you for your review Chris. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will be able to see you again in the future Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Brewer | Sun 31st May 2015


Our stay at Harmony House - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit. It would be difficult to find anywhere better. Our hosts made us very welcome and much care and thought was taken in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. We thoroughly recommend Harmony House.

Response

firstly may I apologise for the delay in my response. Thank you both for coming to stay with us again and giving such a high review. It is a pleasure to look after you both and we hope to see you again if you venture up.Enjoy the summer and any more future holidays you may have planned .Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Althorpe| Tue 28th Apr 2015


All very Harmonious - Rating 5/5

excellent accommodation - bed superbly comfortable;lovely breakfast and shared land rover interests;thank you for having us! Highly recommended;would be an excellent B and B to explore York and surroundings. Beautiful location on the Green.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime if you are in the area. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Nicholes | Sat 4th Apr 2015


Relaxing - Rating 5/5

Good sleep, good breakfast! A warm welcome and a really relaxing weekend at Harmony House. Lots of thought has been put into making a stay here enjoyable. The room was great, the local recommended pub provided a lovely meal and it was very convenient for the park and ride into York. Thanks very much, we are very pleased with our weekend away!

Response

Thank you very much for your review Chris.It was a pleasure having you to stay and we both hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regardsHilary

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Parsonage | Thu 19th Feb 2015


Return to our roots - Rating 5/5

We left Yorkshire for \'life down South\' some 60+ years ago, but return regularly (if infrequently) to visit longtime friends.Our stay at Harmony House was excellent in every respect. Nice room, nice breakfast and nice people--and no parking problems!. Very convenient for bussing into York, but a haven of peace to return to at the end of each day. Would happily return to Harmony House and have no hesitation in recommending it to any who might think of visiting this part of Yorkshire.

Response

Thank you for your lovely response Alan. Apologies for the delay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and being back in Yorkshire again. Paul and I hope you will return to see us again soon and sample the northern life once more !!with best wishesHilary

Reviewer:Alan Rayner | Fri 5th Dec 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

We were looking for an overnight stay around the South York area after a business visit to nearby Malton.We booked the Harmony House direct after finding via another website. From the very first contact we were made to feel very welcomed and this was extend throughout our stay from both Paul and Hilary who make the perfect hosts.On arriving the house looked and felt so warm and inviting and our room, The King Room, didn\'t disappoint either. Overlooking the Green at the front of the house the room was as suggested - king size in every sense. Very comfortable and homely too.I\'ve stayed in a lot of B&B\'s and hotels for business over the years and I have to say they would all benefit and learn from taking a look at this lovely place.Thanks for a lovely stay and look forward to returning in the future.Excellent stay, Excellent food and excellent value

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was a pleasure to meet you andwe are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we may meet again if you are here on business again.hilary

Reviewer:Mr Tappenden | Fri 31st Oct 2014


Two nights at Harmony House - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and welcoming.Help and advice about locations in York were much appreciated - as was the provision of an early breakfast on the morning I left for Scotland.

Response

Thank you so much for your review.It was a pleasure to help you enjoy the parade on York.I hope we may see you again someday.Best wishes. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Shaun Leavey | Tue 26th Aug 2014


A return visit - Rating 5/5

Having stayed at Harmony House on a visit to York last year, we were keen to stay again when we came up for our son's graduation. Hilary and Paul are welcoming, friendly, informative and nothing is too much trouble. The food - breakfast and a celebration dinner - was superb and our accommodation in the annexe clean, comfortable and flexible. We can't recommend Harmony House too highly and are sorry to have run out of excuses for future visits.

Response

Thank you Anne.It was super to see you again and only disappointed that your son has finished at York University and you wont be visiting him here.Maybe you will have an excuse to drop by again - I hope so.Hilary

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Henwood | Thu 7th Aug 2014


Happy days- Rating 5/5

We are on a road trip around yorkshire and have never stayed in a b&b before and did not know quite what to expect, to say we landed on our feet would be an understatment . Hilary and Paul are two of the lovliest people and can't do enough for you and the house is beautiful. We had the family annex as all the other rooms were full, the annex consisted of bedroom with en suite , lounge and kitchen with all that you could possibly need and more and all beautifully done . Thankyou so much for making our first experience such a lovely one, we hope to see you again one day , much love Heather and Andy Rosenthal x

Response

Thank you very much.I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come and see us again soon.It felt like we had known you for years.Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Andrew Rosenthal | Sun 27th Jul 2014


what a find - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place! Excellent accomodation, lovely meals and a great welcome.The owners were really attentive and helpful. two blissful days

Response

Thank you for your review Claire. I am so please you enjoyed your stay. I hope we will meet you again.Hilary

Reviewer:Claire Warburton| Mon 9th Jun 2014


Harmony House review - Rating 4/5

All facilities first class.Spacious room, lovely bathroom and a good location for visiting York.

Response

Thank you very much for you review.I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.I hope you will visit us again one day.in the meantime enjoy the warmer weather Best wishesHilary

Reviewer:Mr&mrs Greenstreet | Wed 30th Apr 2014


A classy house and owners - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have stayed in a variety of hotels and B&B's. Harmony House ranks with the very top hotels and B&B's. Hilary and Paul made us very welcome when we arrived and were attentive throughout our stay. The bedroom was spacious and spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food was of the highest standard and more than ample. We could not fault any aspect of Harmony House, or its owners, or the location. We would recommend the venue to anyone without hesitation or proviso. It would most certainly be our number one choice the next time we visit York.

Response

Thank you so much for the lovely review Mr & Mrs Holmes.It was a pleasure to look after you both and we hope your journey home was without problems.We look forward to seeing you again. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Holmes | Sun 30th Mar 2014


Great value hotel - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for excellence then look no further than Harmony Hotel..it is ideally located near to York (20mins)and ask Hillary or Paul aboutPark and Ride nearby ...much cheaper than Yorks expensive car park charges

Response

Thank you for your lovely review David.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soonhilary

Reviewer:David Rudd | Tue 18th Feb 2014


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

We highly recommend Harmony House, our room and breakfast was first class. Friendly owners, nothing is too much trouble.We shall certainly stay again when in Yorkshire

Response

Thank you very much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you are in the area.May I wish you a very Merry Christmas and prosperous 2014. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Michael Norton| Fri 20th Dec 2013


Superb weekend - Rating 5/5

only one word to describe the hospitalily of Hilary and Paul - excellent.Nothing was too much trouble, Hilary went out of her way to accommodate our wishes, we had an excellent lasagne and salad one night and lovely homemade cakes on arrival. Accommodation was spotless and comfortable.We would highly recomend anyone to stay here for a comfortable homely few days break. my husband really enjoyed his 'Cooking for the boys' day. A great weekend. Thank you.

Response

Thank you very much. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a safe journey home.Hope to see you againHilary

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Bass | Thu 21st Feb 2013


Excellent stay in Harmony House- Rating 5/5

I took my mum and my son (15) for a weekend visit to Harmony House and we stayed in the annexe.We loved it - all the beds were comfy and even in extreme weather we were nice and warm.Hilary was a lovely host - we had enough breakfast provisions for our stay along with some lovely home made scones.The B&B is approx 15-20 mins from York and we travelled in to the centre by car.We would definately recommend the B&B -and we will be booking again next year. :)

Reviewer:Mrs Doreen Corcoran | Wed 5th Dec 2012


Harmony House - Rating 5/5

We phoned to see if we could arrive earlier and this was no problem. We got a very warm welcome with coffee and home bakes. Our room was very tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with anything you wanted and very high standard of cooking. Lots of extras.The hotel was very cosy with a wood burning stove going the whole time. The village was beautiful. We hope to be back in the Spring.

Response

Thank you very much. You are welcome and we hope you had a safe journey home.Look forward to seeing you again in the spring when our 'lake' is more like a meadow. Hilary

Reviewer:Mrs Robinson| Mon 3rd Dec 2012


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

I can thoroughly recommend staying at Harmony House. If I had a query prior to my arrival the answer was returned extremely quickly. I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The bed was exceptionally comfortable - even better than my own at home - and the breakfast was delicious. I had attended a cookery class which I really enjoyed and found very informative and exceeded my expectations. I will definitely be attending more classes and staying over. Can't recommend enough. Don't hesitate, go and enjoy, learn something new and have a great time. Thank you Hilary and Sam it's customer service how you dream it should be.

Response

Thank you Lynne. It was lovely to meet you and I am really happy you enjoyed the course too.Look forward to seeing you again Hilary

Reviewer:Lynne Holcroft | Sun 2nd Dec 2012


very happy - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with our stay. Hilary was warm and hospitable and would go again and recommend to others.

Response

Thank you very much.We hope to see you againHilary

Reviewer:Dr. Hasmukh Jethwa | Mon 19th Nov 2012


Harmony House - Rating 5/5

Had a 2 night stay so that we could attend a wedding in the local area. The house is lovely and the area, especially the view over the green to the river, is gorgeous. We had a room in the main house which was large and very comfortable, breakfast was excellent with a good range of choices for those of you who don't use the excuse of being away to indulge in a full english breakfast. The biggest plus point, however was the welcome and our hosts. "A warm welcome"is an understatement, home made scones and tea on arrival. From directions to interent research to a lift to the hotel on Sunday morning to collect our car they could not have been more accommodating (and I haven't even mentioned the home made goodies in the room). In addition the house is located only a short drive from York itself. I would recommend this place to anyone and am in the process of inventing a reason to come back to the area just so we can stay here again.

Response

It was a pleasure having you and I hope you both got home safely.Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Edward Day | Thu 15th Nov 2012


highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed for the weekend in the 'annex'. Really enjoyed the stay with friendly hosts and everything you need for a break with your own kitchen area. Sleeps four peaople with plenty of space and house is in a very peaceful location. Bus stop to York less than a minute away. We certainly hope to return

Response

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Finney | Mon 12th Nov 2012


A real Gem! - Rating 5/5

What a find! we fell in love with Harmony House just from the pictures and the description and we weren't disappointed when we arrived! It's ideal for 2, 3 or 4, our two young girls ( 10 &7 ) loved thier own room / den upstairs. With old character charm in a lovely setting and lovely hosts, this really is a must stay on one proviso - you don't go when we want to go back!!!!!!

Response

What a lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Love the proviso!!Hope you received your parcel

Reviewer:Mr. Jon Southgate | Thu 8th Nov 2012


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

This was our second time of staying at Harmony House, and yet again the stay did not fail to please.Our hosts were warm and welcoming, and the food was excellent.We would not hesitate to return.

Response

Lovely to see you again and thank you for all the help with the family tree. Hope to see you again

Reviewer:Michelline Jordan | Thu 1st Nov 2012


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Harmony House. The standard of both the accommodation and food (breakfast and evening meal) were excellent. The house is beautiful and our room had everything one would need - and it was absolutely spotless. Hilary was extremely friendly and approachable. It was extremely good value for money and we will definitely return. We thoroughly enjoyed the cookery course, too.

Response

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Carol Linton| Thu 1st Nov 2012


Flexible, friendly and professional - Rating 5/5

Lovely weekend made possible by the great attitude and helpful nature of Harmony House's owners. Will recommend and book again! Thank you!

Response

Thank you very much. We hope you will visit again

Reviewer:Regine Wilber | Mon 29th Oct 2012


Four night stay - Rating 5/5

One of the best B+B we have ever stayed in. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and well presented, the food really plentiful and beautifully prepared. A friendly, helpful and welcoming atmosphere at all times. Excellent value. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:mr althorpe | Sat 13th Oct 2012


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

This is my third stay at Harmony House and I would recommend it highly.The rooms are comfortable, clean and have everything you might need - including home-baked cookies! And Hilary is a lovely host.

Reviewer:Jessica Bond | Fri 5th Oct 2012


A special place - Rating 5/5

As soon as we were met by Hilary, we realised that this was a special place. A warm welcome, inspirational decor. Comfortable &easy to feel at home. The hospitality tray had an array of teas and coffees and iresistable home-made biscuits. Our only regret was that we had not booked an evening meal, as the breakfasts were a delicious selection af all that you might want at that time of day. In two days i wasn't able to sample all of the home-made jams and marmalade - regretsbly. We are planning to return in the New Year. Many thanks to Hilary &Paul

Response

Thank you very much. You were such a lovely family and I certainly hope we will see you again sometime. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Davies | Tue 25th Sep 2012


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We received a warm,friendly welcome from Hilary who was very obliging and flexible. Our room, Poppy, was delightful with everything you could think of provided. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the evening and a lovely breakast. It was a pity we could only stay for one night but we shall certainly return. Harmony House is well placed for visiting various places of interest in Yorkshire.

Response

Thank you Mr Pratt. I hope you are abl to stay with us for more than one night next time. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr Pratt | Fri 21st Sep 2012


Harmony House, Stillingfleet - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at Harmony House and the hosts were extremely kind and helpful.Hilary's home made biscuits were delicious as a midnight snack and we would most definately stay there again and recommend it to others.

Response

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again soon

Reviewer:Mrs E Mulchy | Tue 11th Sep 2012


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay just outside of York.A short bus ride(the bus stop is just a few steps away) or a short car ride but quiet and beautiful setting.

Response

Thank you Erin. I hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable and we hope to see you when you come across the pond again. Hilary

Reviewer:Amanda Erin Swanson | Tue 28th Aug 2012


40th Birthday Party! - Rating 5/5

Superb location, delightful property, excellent facilities and room and terrific hosts - we couldn't have asked for more. Definitely recommended and we'll be back for sure.

Response

Thank you Colin. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you and your wife againHilary

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Reith | Tue 28th Aug 2012


exceptional B&B - Rating 5/5

This is an amazing B&B- from the moment we arrived we were looked after and we arrived early and on two motorbikes.... We had a lovely lounge to hang out in and was given complimentary cakes and coffee. Our ensuite room was gorgeous and very spacious. It had coffee, tea, fresh milk, crisps and homemade cookies to nibble as well as a variety of gorgeous smellies to sample...we had a huge bed and the most perfect breakfast with so much choice. This was our last B&B out of 6 we stayed at and this was simply the best!!!!!!! Everyone should stay here once in their life xxx

Response

Thank you Nici. I know I have emailed you also, but it was lovely to meet you and I hope to do so againGood luck with the bike riding

Reviewer:Mrs. Nici Grover | Fri 24th Aug 2012


Harmony House - Rating 4/5

we were made very welcome on arrival and were provided with many extras in the 'self-catering' annex. We shall certainly be hoping to be able to stay again when we visit York.

Response

Thank you very much and I hope you hade a safe journey back to Norfolk

Reviewer:Mr. Ken Deighton | Tue 21st Aug 2012


Just the ticket - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome, comfortable room and lounge,excelent breakfast. Recommended.

Response

Thank you very much. I hope to see you again sometime. Hilary

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Whitfield| Sat 14th Jul 2012


my stay - Rating 5/5

without doubt the most hospitable stay I've had anywhere in a guest house;Lovely people and a hearty breakfast. I'd definitely recommend it. Instructions on how to use the TV would have been handy but I worked it out ok.

Response

Thank you very much Paul.. I will take note of the TV as I did write a new note when we went digital, so I think a digital friendly TV would be in order now.Hope to see you againKind regardsHilary

Reviewer:Paul Vincent | Mon 25th Jun 2012


Absolutely wondeful - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic place. Host is wonderful, village is peaceful, house is 5 star. We will most definately be staying here again.

Response

Thank you Chris What a lovely review. We will be pleased to have you all again and hope the weekend was successful for youkind regardsHilary

Reviewer:Chris Tipping | Mon 11th Jun 2012


A gorgeous stay - Rating 5/5

What a delightful home away from home.From the minute we walked in, we felt at home.Hilary gave us a great welcome.She gave us a cup of tea (and cake), as well as a lot of information about York.The room was delightful.The breakfast was great.I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Response

Thank you very much David. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and hope that Willow Corner B&B continues as you want it. I will certainly have your cards ready for anyone wishing to break a journey.I look forward to visiting you one day Hilary

Reviewer:David Pilditch | Sat 12th May 2012


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Self Catering
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic breaks
  • Country retreat

Contact Details

Harmony House
The Green
York
Stillingfleet
North Yorkshire
YO19 6SH
Tel:01904 720933
Fax:01904720933
hilary@harmonyhouseyork.com